Call for Nominations: FCIL Awards

The FCIL-SIS Executive Board is currently accepting nominations to honor FCIL-SIS members who have made outstanding contributions to our community.

FCIL-SIS gives out the following awards:

  1. Established in 2006, the Daniel L. Wade FCIL-SIS Outstanding Service Award honors an FCIL-SIS member who has made outstanding contributions to the Section in the areas of section activity and professional service.

    Criteria to be considered include: outstanding leadership in the Section, at meetings, and in committee work; special and notable service to the Section, such as participation in special projects; participation in Section educational programs and public-speaking activities;  mentoring activities that encourage others in the Section; and Activities that encourage others to join the Section.

    Past winners include: Dan Wade, Marci Hoffman, Mary Rumsey, Maria Smolka-Day, Teresa Miguel-Stearns; Mila Rush; Ellen Schaffer; Marylin Raisch; Dennis Sears; Mirela Roznovschi; Lyonette Louis-Jacques; Alison Shea; Jonathan Pratter; James Hart; and Sergio Stone.

  2. The Thomas H. Reynolds and Arturo A. Flores FCIL-SIS Publications Award honors FCIL-SIS members who have greatly contributed to the professional development of their AALL colleagues during any given year.

    The award is named after Thomas H. Reynolds and Arturo A. Flores, authors of the Foreign Law Guide.  The winning “publications” may be print, digital, or electronic initiatives. The decisive factor for bestowing the Award is “the degree to which the publication enhances the professional knowledge and capabilities of law librarians.”

    Previous winners include Teresa Miguel-Stearns and Alison Shea; Marci Hoffman and Mary Rumsey; Wei Luo; Ralph Gaebler and Alison Shea; Mirela Roznovschi; Timothy G. Kearley; and the authors of the Mexican Law and Legal Research Guide: Bianca T. Anderson, Marisol Floren-Romero, Julienne E. Grant, Jootaek Lee, Lyonette Louis-Jacques, Teresa M. Miguel-Stearns, Jonathan Pratter, and Sergio Stone.

  3. The Spirit of the FCIL-SIS Award is presented each year to members whose work further the FCIL-SIS’s mission, serves the FCIL-SIS community, and inspires others to act.  See the long list of previous winners of the Spirit of the FCIL-SIS award here.

Submit your nominees to any member of the Executive Board: Alex Zhang, Catherine Deane; Sabrina Sondhi, or Alison Shea by March 31, 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s