Introducing…Marci Hoffman as the January 2016 FCIL Librarian of the Month

1. HoffmanWhere did you grow up?

I was born in Littleton, Colorado (outside of Denver) but we moved to Southern California when I was a kid. So I really grew up in the San Fernando Valley before there were any “valley girls.”

2. Why did you select law librarianship as a career?

When I thought I wanted to be a lawyer, I went to work as a legal assistant in a law firm.  So glad I did — I thought that the work lawyers did was dull but legal research was fun!  Then I met the librarian at Lucas Films and I wanted her job (but she said I’d have to wait until she died).  In the end, my firm offered me a job when I got out of library school. A girl’s gotta eat!

3. When did you develop an interest in foreign, comparative, and international law?

I always loved international relations, government and political science and FCIL work gave me an opportunity to utilize my interest and knowledge.  When I started at Berkeley Law (then called Boalt) in 1991, I learned a lot by watching what Tom Reynold did (Tom wasn’t big on sharing in those days). I followed him around the stacks, peered over his shoulder and took lots of notes.  I was then lucky to get my first FCIL job at the University of Minnesota Law Library and I learned by doing the work.  FCIL programs, trainings, and helpful colleagues helped fill in the gaps.

4. Who is your current employer? How long have you worked there?

Berkeley Law employs me currently and I’ve been back for about 12.5 years.

5. Do you speak any foreign languages?

I hesitate to say “speak” since I’m too insecure.  I can read German and Spanish.

6. What is your most significant professional achievement?

Getting to work each day!  Okay, I’d say working with David Weissbrodt on the Minnesota Human Rights Library, one of the first collections of international human rights instruments on the web. I’ve also been fortunate enough to work on several other projects.  I love working with Mary Rumsey and we wrote the IFLR Coursebook together.  She always makes me look (and sound) better.  I’m also really lucky to be able to work on the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals and the Foreign Law Guide with the help of many wonderful colleagues.

7. What is your biggest food weakness?

Wine – all kinds!  Oh, is wine a food?

8. What song makes you want to get up and sing/dance?

Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen.

9. What ability or skill do you most wish you had (that you don’t have already)?

Creativity and artistic ability – paint, draw, whatever. My stick figure drawings leave much to be desired.

10. Aside from the basic necessities, what is one thing you not go a day without?

Coffee – double latte with non-fat milk.  I would say wine but I don’t want to give the wrong impression.  One other thing, my husband.  Sounds corny but he gets me through each and every day (he cooks all of our meals).  Sorry, that’s more than one thing.

11. Anything else you would like to share with us?

Although I am now an associate director with many other responsibilities, I still do most of the FCIL work here at Berkeley Law.  It’s the best part of my job.

3 responses to “Introducing…Marci Hoffman as the January 2016 FCIL Librarian of the Month

  1. Pingback: Introducing…Marci Hoffman as the January 2016 FCIL Librarian of the Month – Veille juridique

Leave a Reply

