Introducing…Hunter Whaley as the August FCIL Librarian of the Month (and Winner of the Newest FCIL Librarian Award)!

1. Where did you grow up?whaley

I’ve been very fortunate to grow up all over the world because I was part of a military family. We moved to Naples, Italy when I was 5 and then to London, England when I was 8. When my dad retired from the Marine Corps, we moved to Tallahassee, Florida where I attended high school. Seeking a more metropolitan city, I went to Miami, Florida for university. After university, I taught English in Korea for a year before deciding to return to Florida for law school.

2. Why did you select law librarianship as a career?

The short answer is a lifestyle choice. First and foremost, I love doing research. Finding that seemingly impossible source provides personal satisfaction. Combined with that, during law school I saw many of my friends and peers go into practice, work long hours, and pass on social activities to get work done. I know that law librarians must occasionally work longer hours to grade assignments or sit a late night reference desk shift, but I did not want this to be a normal occurrence. I’m very active outside of work and I don’t want my job to totally define who I am. Admittedly though, I do enjoy when friends introduce me as a lawbrarian.

3. When did you develop an interest in foreign, comparative, and international law?

Because I had the opportunity to grow up abroad, I’ve always been interested in foreign and international issues. While I did not go to law school with an intent to study FCIL, I was always interested in discussing it with people who were.

4. Who is your current employer? How long have you worked there?

I began working for Columbia Law School in April 2015. I celebrated my three month work anniversary at AALL.

**Editor’s Note: Hunter won the Newest FCIL Librarian Award this year at the FCIL-SIS business meeting in Philly!  He models his prize in the picture above.**    

5. Do you speak any foreign languages?

Currently working in FCIL, I’m a little embarrassed to say I do not speak a foreign language fluently. While I was in University, I studied Mandarin and loved it. I continue to try and improve my Mandarin skills by listening to language MP3s while I work and conversing with people when I have the opportunity.

6. What is your most significant professional achievement?

While I was earning my M.L.I.S. at Florida State University, I had the honor of working with Professor Larry Krieger on his law review article, What Makes Lawyers Happy?: A Data-Driven Prescription to Redefine Professional Success, identifying lawyer well-being and happiness. His work and our talks reinforced my decision of career paths.

7. What is your biggest food weakness?

Truffle oil. I’ll give anything with truffle oil a shot. Right now one of my favorite recipes is truffle oil macaroni and cheese.

8. What song makes you want to get up and sing/dance?

Anything by Girl Talk.

9. What ability or skill do you most wish you had (that you don’t already have)?

Unrealistic ability: teleportation. It would be amazing to live anywhere in the world and commute instantly.

Realistic ability: photographic memory.

10 Aside from the basic necessities, what is one thing you *can* not go a day without?

There isn’t anything that I cannot go without. Some things may be unpleasant to be without (caffeine, friends, technology) but nothing is so detrimental that I could not go without it.

11. Anything else you would like to share with us?

As the school year approaches, I hope everyone has a great year!

Leave a Reply

