Introducing…Susan Gualtier as the December FCIL Librarian of the Month

catears1.  Where did you grow up?

I grew up in a very small town called Halifax, PA, about two hours west of Philly.

2.  Why did you select law librarianship as a career?

Before becoming a law librarian, I practiced law for several years in New York City and Washington, DC. It would occasionally occur to me that I might be able to go back to library school, but I kept rejecting the idea as too expensive and time-consuming. When I finally decided to go, it was a bit of a snap decision – one day, I was working on a particularly tedious document review, and three days later, I was applying to library school.

 3.  When did you develop an interest in foreign, comparative, and international law?

I was interested in foreign, comparative, and international law as early as college. In fact, during my junior year, I decided to get a part-time job and ended up working for Dan Wade at the Yale Law Library, where I updated looseleaf services for the foreign and international law collection. In a way, I wish I’d realized then that I wanted to pursue law librarianship as a career; I could have saved myself a tremendous amount of stress by avoiding applying for law firm jobs! However, my experiences with practicing law and taking the bar exam definitely inform how I relate to my students, so I can’t really say that I regret practicing first.

4.  Who is your current employer? How long have you worked there?

I currently work at the Paul M. Hebert Law Center Library at Louisiana State University, where I’ve been for a little over three years. Laissez les bons temps roulez!

5.  Do you speak any foreign languages?

I speak Italian and French.

6.  What is your most significant professional achievement?

To be honest, I think that my most significant achievement has simply been finding my way to a career that is intellectually challenging and emotionally fulfilling. Anything else that I accomplish in the profession will just build upon that foundation.

7. What is your biggest food weakness?

Pasta of just about every variety.

8.  What song makes you want to get up and sing/dance?

I’m really into music and live shows, but I’m not much of a dancer. I do like to sing. I think that the only proper answer here would be “Don’t Stop Believin’.”  No one can stay silent when that song comes on.

9.  What ability or skill do you most wish you had (that you don’t have already)?

I wish I had the ability to speak Russian. I majored in Russian history in college, but never learned the language, and I’ve always regretted not studying it when I had the chance. Unfortunately, there are other languages that would probably be higher on my list now because they’d be more useful in my work. But who knows? I like to think that there’s still time for almost anything.

10.  Aside from the basic necessities, what is one thing you not go a day without?

I couldn’t live without my three awesome cats. I have two black cats that I adopted together about seven years ago, and a two year old rescue tabby that I adopted last year. The tabby swims and plays fetch. She’s a most unusual cat.

 11.  Anything else you would like to share with us?

I have the most juvenile taste in television. I absolutely live for Pretty Little Liars. It’s “A-mazing.”

2 responses to “Introducing…Susan Gualtier as the December FCIL Librarian of the Month

  1. Pingback: AALL 2015 Recap: FCIL-SIS Publicity Committee Meeting | DipLawMatic Dialogues

  2. Pingback: Antiquarian/Rare Books Vendors and Dealers: Foreign and International Law | DipLawMatic Dialogues

Leave a Reply

